Heriot-Watt University

THE COURT Minutes: 9 November 2023

In the Chair: Mr Bruce Pritchard, Chair of Court

Present: Mr Scott Anderson, Student Union President Ms Morag

Dr Richard Armour, Lay Member

Professor Mark Biggs, Vice-Principal and

Provost

Mr Graeme Dickson, Lay Member Dr Brian Henderson, Alumni Member Dr Fadi Ghaith, Senate Member

Mr Connel Greenhorn, Student Union Vice-

President (Education)

Mr Steve Heathcote, Lay Member

Professor David Jenkins, Trade Union Member

Mr Gary Kildare, Lay Member

Mr Paul Lewis, Lay Member

Dr Bill MacPherson, Senate Member

Ms Morag McNeill, Lay Member

Mr Jürgen Munz, Trade Union Member

Ms Marta Phillips, Lay Member

Mr Chris Pirie, Staff Member Mr Alan Robertson, Lay Member Professor Mathini Sellathurai, Dean Mr Ian Stevenson, Lay Member

Mr Mike Tumilty, Lay Member (for M23/91)

Ms Sharan Virdee, Staff Member

Professor Richard Williams, Principal and Vice-

Chancellor

Ms Dorothy Wright, Lay Member

In attendance: Ms Ruth Moir, University Secretary

Professor Malcolm Chrisp, Deputy Principal (Education and Student Life)

Mr Richard Claughton, Global Director of HR

Ms Sue Collier, Global Director of Governance and Legal Services (GALS)

Ms Lucy Everest, Global Chief Operating Officer (GCOO)

Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer, Deputy Principal (Global Sustainability) Professor Dame Heather McGregor, Vice-Principal and Provost (Dubai) Professor Gill Murray, Deputy Principal (Enterprise and Business)

Mr Martin Pringle, Global Finance Director (GFD)

Ms Lisa Herlihy, Clerk to the Court

Apologies: Professor Mushtak Al-Atabi, Vice-Principal and Provost (Malaysia)

Professor Steve McLaughlin, Deputy Principal (Research and Impact)

MINUTE REF

M23/90 WELCOME, APOLOGIES AND DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Chair welcomed all present to the meeting and noted the apologies for absence. No declarations of interest were reported. It was noted that Mr Tumilty had an interest in M23/92, which related to his memberships, and that he would not be present for the discussion of this item.

M23/91 HWU-SFC OUTCOME AGREEMENT 2023-24 (Ct7/23/65)

The Court received and approved the Outcome Agreement for 2023-24 between Heriot-Watt and the Scottish Funding Council (SFC), presented by the Deputy Principal (Education and Student Life) and the Director of Strategy Planning and Performance.

The Court agreed that:

- it would be helpful to include the Graduate Outcomes identified on pg 7 of the report within the Principal's Foreword;
- it would helpful to mention Al within the section on innovation and assessment (pg 5), whilst acknowledging that the report was a one year view and Al was not currently being used in this sphere;
- the report would be accompanied by a brief message from the Court to the SFC, which would include mention of the work being done between

MINUTE REF

- the Executive, the Court and the Senate regarding the National Student Survey (NSS) results;
- the Director of Strategic Planning and Performance would discuss Net Zero academic activity with Professor David Jenkins, outwith the meeting, to ensure that this was fully reflected in the report; and
- that a typo on pg 4 would be corrected so that the sentence read 'lack of preparedness'.

M23/92 DEPUTY CHAIR OF COURT APPOINTMENT (Ct7/23/66)

The Court received and approved the Deputy Chair of Court appointment, presented by the University Secretary.

On the recommendation of the Governance and Nominations Committee, the Court approved the following proposals:

- that Mr Mike Tumilty's membership of the Court be renewed from 1 August 2024 until 31 July 2027;
- that Mr Tumilty's role as Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee, and associated roles, be renewed from 1 August 2024 until 31 July 2026; and
- that Mr Tumilty be appointed as Deputy Chair of Court from 10 November 2023 until 31 July 2026.

M23/93 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

Thursday 7 December 2023; 8.30am (UK time); 12.30pm (Dubai time); 4.30pm (Malaysia time); Microsoft Teams