

Membership of the Senate Session 2021-22

Ex Officio Members			
Principal and Vice-Chancellor			
Professor Richard A Williams	(Chair of the Senate)		
Vice-Principal and Provost			
Professor Mark Biggs	(Vice-Chair of the Senate)		
Deputy Principals			
<u>Dr Gillian Murray</u>	Deputy Principal (Enterprise and Business)		
Professor Steve McLaughlin	Deputy Principal (Research and Impact)		
Professor John Sawkins	Deputy Principal (Education and Student Life)		
Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer	Deputy Principal (Global Sustainability)		
Vice-Principal and Provosts		Appointed to:	
Professor Mushtak Al-Atabi	Vice-Principal and Provost (Malaysia)	31/07/22	
Professor Ammar Kaka	Vice-Principal and Provost (Dubai)	(up to) 31/07/23	
Elected Deans of the University			
Professor Scott Arthur	'Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences' (Elected by Senate as the Dean to serve as member of the Court to 31 March 2023)	31/03/23	
Professor Mathini Sellathurai	'Science and Engineering'	31/12/23	
Dr Amos Haniff	'Pan-University Constituency'	31/12/23	
Heads of Primary Academic Unit	s		
Professor Malcolm Chrisp	School of Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Societ	ty	
Professor Heather McGregor	School of Social Sciences (Acting Head)		
Professor Duncan Hand	School of Engineering and Physical Sciences (Acting He	ead)	
Professor Beatrice Pelloni	School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences		
Professor Fiona Waldron	School of Textiles and Design		
Chairs of Senate Standing Comm	nittees and Joint Committee of Senate and the Court		
<u>Dr Amos Haniff</u>	University Discipline Committee	31/12/23	
Professor Gareth Pender	University Committee for Research and Innovation		
Professor John Sawkins	University Committee for Learning and Teaching		
Professor Fiona Waldron	University Committee for Quality and Standards	31/07/23	
Professor Fiona Waldron	Ordinances and Regulations Committee	31/07/23	
	Student Members		
Ms Emily Lucy King	President, Student Union	31/05/22	
Frankie Hulme	Vice-President for Wellbeing, Student Union	31/05/22	
Hannah Copeland	Vice-President for Education, Student Union	31/05/22	
Mr Syed Uzai	The President, Dubai Student Council	31/05/22	
VACANCY	A second Dubai Campus elected member	31/05/22	
Sai Vishnu Majji Ganeswara Rao	The President, Malaysia Student Association	31/05/22	
Ngo Tean Shin	Second Malaysia Campus elected member	31/05/22	

Mr Benedict Aduomahor The Postgraduate Research Officer, Student Union 31/09/22

	Elected Sta	aff Members
School of Energy, Geoscience, In 11 Senators permitted to be elected		
Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
Dr Craig Kennedy	31/07/24	
Dr Ross Alexander	31/07/24	
Dr Helen Lewis	31/07/24	
Ms Cheng Siew Goh	31/07/24	
Professor Dave Jenkins *	31/07/23	Serving second successive term
Dr Airil Yasreen Mohd Yassin	31/07/23	
Dr Rabee Rustum	31/07/23	
Dr Sandhya Patidar *	31/07/22	Serving second successive term
Dr Joanne Porter	31/07/22	
Dr Jim Buckman	31/07/22	
Dr Hagir Hakim	31/07/22	
School of Engineering and Physical 13 Senators permitted to be elected		ary Academic Unit
Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
<u>Dr Paul Dalgarno</u>	31/07/24	
Dr Tze Chuen Yap	31/07/24	
Ruaraidh Mcintosh	31/07/24	
Professor Helinor Johnston	31/07/24	
<u>Dr Fadi Ghaith</u>	31/07/24	(Elected by Senate as a Senator to serve as member of the Court to 31 July 2024)
<u>Dr Mehdi Nazarinia</u> *	31/07/23	Serving second successive term
Professor Gillian Thomson *	31/07/22	Serving second successive term
Professor Vicki Stone *	31/07/22	Serving second successive term
Dr Mutasim Nour *	31/07/22	Serving second successive term
<u>Dr Euan Brown</u>	31/07/22	
<u>Dr Keith Brown</u>	31/07/22	
Dr Ruhul Khandaker	31/07/22	
Dr Bill MacPherson	31/07/22	(Elected by Senate as a Senator to serve as member of the Court to 31 July 2024)
School of Textiles and Design 5 Senators permitted to be elected f	rom this Prima	ry Academic Unit
Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
<u>Dr Britta Kalkreuter</u>	31/07/24	
Professor Julian Malins	31/07/24	
Dr David Cavallaro	31/07/23	
Dr Aude Le Guennec *	31/07/22	Serving second successive term
Mr Lee Miles	31/07/22	

School of Social Sciences

12 Senators permitted to be elected from this Primary Academic Unit (which includes the Staff of EBS)

Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
Dr Marion Winters *	31/07/24	Serving second successive term
Dr Jose M Conde	31/07/24	
<u>Dr Linda Buchan</u>	31/07/24	
Dr Chris Rutherford	31/07/24	
Dr Cakil Agnew	31/07/24	
Dr Kathryn Waite *	31/07/24	Serving second successive term
Dr Kirin Hilliar	31/07/24	
Dr Min-Hsiu Liao	31/07/24	
Ms Elaine Collinson	31/07/23	
Dr Tom Farrington	31/07/23	
<u>Dr Marlene Muller</u>	31/07/23	
Dr Katerina Strani	31/07/22	

School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences

9 Senators permitted to be elected from this Primary Academic Unit

Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
Professor Dugald Duncan *	31/07/24	Serving second successive term
Mr Larry O'Brien *	31/07/24	Serving second successive term
Dr Christian Saemann	31/07/24	
Dr Hind Zantout	31/07/24	
Professor Lynne Baillie	31/07/23	
Dr Hani Ragab Hassen	31/07/23	
Mr Peter Ridges	31/07/23	
<u>Dr Anke Wiese</u>	31/07/23	
VACANCY	-	Position not filled in election process May/June 2021
	•	

^{*} not eligible for re-election at end of current term of office

In Attendance (can be varied from time to time)			
Ms Ruth Moir, University Secretary	Ms Sue Collier, Global Director of Governance and Legal Services		
Mr Paul Travill, Global Academic Registrar	Mr Fraser Muir, Global Director of Information Services		
Professor Martha Caddell, Director, Learning and Teaching Academy	Ms Kirsty Scanlan, Director of Strategic Planning and Performance		
Dr Maggie King, Head of Academic Quality	Mr Mark Hamid, Senior Governance Officer (Clerk)		

Materia.		and all the annuals are all the	
Notes on	composition	and membership	

In accordance with the <u>Higher Education Governance (Scotland) Act 2016</u>, and as provided for in <u>Statute 5</u> and the <u>Ordinances</u>, the Senate is constituted in such a way that:

The present structure delivers capacity for 75 Senators, comprised of:

(a) more than 50% of its members are either persons appointed by being elected by the academic Staff from among their own number, or persons appointed by being elected by the Students of the institution from among the Students of the institution; and

18 ex-officio positions; 8 members elected by the Students from the Student body; and

Senate Membership 2021-22

(b) at least 10% of its members are persons appointed by being elected by the Students of the institution from among the Students of the institution.

50 members elected by the academic Staff from among the academic Staff in Schools.