

Membership of the Senate - Session 2024-25

Ex Officio Members				
Principal and Vice-Chancellor				
Professor Richard A Williams	Chair of the Senate			
Vice-Principal and Provost				
Professor Steve McLaughlin	Vice-Chair of the Senate			
Deputy Principals				
Professor Gillian Murray	Deputy Principal for Enterprise and Business			
VACANCY	Deputy Principal for Research and Impact			
Professor Malcolm Chrisp	Deputy Principal for Education and Student Life			
Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer	Deputy Principal for Global Sustainability			
International Campuses		Appointed to:		
Professor Mushtak Al-Atabi	Vice-Principal and Provost Heriot-Watt University Malaysia	31/07/27		
Professor Dame Heather McGregor	Vice-Principal and Provost Heriot-Watt University Dubai	31/07/27		
Elected Deans of the University				
Dr Yvonne McLaren-Hankin	'Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences'	31/03/26		
Dr Alistair McConnell	'Science and Engineering'	31/12/26		
<u>Dr Dan Hale</u>	'Pan-University Constituency'	31/03/27		
Heads of Primary Academic Units				
Professor P.A. Muhammed Basheer	School of Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society			
Professor Angus Laing	School of Social Sciences			
Professor Igor Guz	School of Engineering and Physical Sciences			
Professor Sara Lombardo	School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences			
Professor Julian Malins	School of Textiles and Design (Acting)			
Professor Anna Fenge	Heriot-Watt Global College			
Chairs of Senate Committee(s) and	I Joint Committees of the Court and Senate			
Professor Fiona Waldron	University Committee for Quality and Standards	31/07/26		
Professor Mehdi Nazarinia	University Discipline Committee	31/12/26		
Professor Fiona Waldron	Ordinances and Regulations Committee	31/07/26		
Student Members				
Mr Cameron Fields	Student Union President	31/05/25		
Ms Rachel Poole	Student Union Vice-President for Wellbeing	31/05/25		
Ms Holly McAdams	Student Union Vice-President for Education 31/05/25			
Ms Ridhima Shivkumar	Dubai Student Council President	31/05/25		
Ms Angela Justin	Dubai Student Council Academic Executive	31/05/25		
Ms Pearlyn Tee	Malaysia Student Association President	31/05/25		
Mr Fujiawara Jun	Malaysia Student Association Academic Vice-President	31/05/25		
Mr Joshua Ahurome Eseigbe	Student Union Postgraduate Research Member of Parliament	31/05/25		
Ms Ganashree Shivakumar	Student Union Postgraduate Taught Member of Parliament	31/05/25		

Last updated: 08 April 2025

Elected Staff Members

School of Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society
14 Senators permitted to be elected from this Primary Academic Unit

Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
<u>Dr Demitrios Cotsovos</u>	31/07/25	
Dr Shameel Muhammed	31/07/25	
<u>Dr Yasemin Nielsen</u>	31/07/25	
Professor Joanne Porter	31/07/25	Serving second successive term
Dr Harpreet Seth	31/07/25	
<u>Dr Rabee Rustum</u>	31/07/26	Serving second successive term
Dr Alex MacLaren	31/07/26	
Dr George Vasdravellis	31/07/26	
Dr Craig Kennedy	31/07/27	Serving second successive term
Dr Hassam Chaudhry	31/07/27	
<u>Dr Taha Elhag</u>	31/07/27	
<u>Dr Noor Zainab Habib</u>	31/07/27	
Dr M Shadi Mohamed	31/07/27	
<u>Dr Hai Chen Tan</u>	31/07/27	

School of Engineering and Physical Sciences
19 Senators permitted to be elected from this Primary Academic Unit

Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
Dr Nasir Al Lagtah	31/07/25	
<u>Dr Anne Bernassau</u>	31/07/25	
Dr Florence Chiao Mei Choong	31/07/25	
Professor Annie Hill	31/07/25	
Professor Martin McCoustra	31/07/25	
Dr Richard McCracken	31/07/25	
<u>Dr Hendrik Nahler</u>	31/07/25	
<u>Dr Humphrey Yiu</u>	31/07/25	
Dr Bill MacPherson	31/07/25	Serving second successive term
Dr David Ellis	31/07/26	
Professor Paul Dalgarno	31/07/27	Serving second successive term
Dr Tze Cheun Yap	31/07/27	Serving second successive term
Dr Ruaraidh Mcintosh	31/07/27	Serving second successive term
<u>Dr Yun li Go</u>	31/07/27	
<u>Dr Adnan Ilyas</u>	31/07/27	
Dr Barbara Keating	31/07/27	
Dr Mohammed Saleh	31/07/27	
Dr Robin Westacott	31/07/27	

School of Textiles and Design

6 Senators permitted to be elected from this Primary Academic Unit

·		
Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
<u>Dr Lucy Robertson</u>	31/07/25	
Mr Lee Miles	31/07/25	Serving second successive term
Dr Euan Winton	31/07/26	
Dr Britta Kalkreuter	31/07/27	Serving second successive term
Dr David Cavallaro	31/07/27	

School of Social Sciences

16 Senators permitted to be elected from this Primary Academic Unit

Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
Dr Katerina Strani	31/07/25	Serving second successive term
<u>Dr Erkal Ersoy</u>	31/07/25	
Professor Reza Kouhy	31/07/26	
Dr Katriona Myhill	31/07/26	
<u>Dr Monica Tamariz</u>	31/07/26	
Dr Ross Curran	31/07/27	
<u>Dr Louise Delicato</u>	31/07/27	
Dr Christopher Dodd	31/07/27	
Professor Joanna Drugan	31/07/27	
Dr April Henning	31/07/27	
<u>Dr Ramon Inglada</u>	31/07/27	
Dr Suzanne Lampert	31/07/27	
Dr Jia (Lucy) Lu	31/07/27	
<u>Dr Shereen Nassar</u>	31/07/27	
Dr Florian Scheuring	31/07/27	

School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences

14 Senators permitted to be elected from this Primary Academic Unit

Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
Professor Lehel Banjai	31/07/25	
Dr Alistair McConnell	31/07/25	
<u>Dr Timothy Johnson</u>	31/07/25	
Dr Neamat El Gayar	31/07/26	
Ms Andrea Sneddon	31/07/26	
Dr Kathrin Stark	31/07/26	
Professor Christian Saemann	31/07/27	Serving second successive term
<u>Dr Thomas Methven</u>	31/07/27	
Mr Adrian Nathai	31/07/27	
Dr Stefano Padilla	31/07/27	
Dr Marta Romeo	31/07/27	
Dr Ryad Soobhany	31/07/27	
Mr Karamjeet Singh K.Ranthir Singh	31/07/27	
<u>Dr Marta Vallejo</u>	31/07/27	

Heriot-Watt Global College 6 Senators permitted to be elected from this Primary Academic Unit		
Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
Dr Yousef Al-Gumaei	31/07/26	
Mr Andrew Hock Cheong Lee	31/07/26	
Ms Jasmine Low	31/07/26	
Ms Devanshi Sharma	31/07/26	
Mr Nader Shouly	31/07/26	
<u>Dr Nazia Talat</u>	31/07/27	

In Attendance

(can be varied from time to time)

- Ms Ruth Moir, University Secretary
- Ms Samantha Kane, Global Director of Student Experience and Academic Registrar
- Professor Martha Caddell, Director of the Learning and Teaching Academy
- Dr Maggie King, Head of Academic Quality
- Ms Sue Collier, Global Director of Governance and Legal Services
- Ms Kirsty Scanlan, Director of Strategic Planning, Performance and Projects
- Ms Megan Morgan, Governance Officer (Clerk)
- Mr Fraser Muir, Global Director of Information Services

Notes on composition and membership

In accordance with the <u>Higher Education Governance (Scotland) Act 2016</u>, and as provided for in <u>Statute 5</u> and the <u>Ordinances</u>, the Senate should be constituted in such a way that:

- (a) more than 50% of its members are either persons appointed by being elected by the academic Staff from among their own number, or persons appointed by being elected by the Students of the institution from among the Students of the institution; and
- (b) at least 10% of its members are persons appointed by being elected by the Students of the institution from among the Students of the institution.

The Ordinances & Regulations Committee is conducting a review of the Senate's composition to ensure that the requirement for (b) above can be met.

The present structure delivers capacity for 103 Senators, comprised of:

19 ex officio positions;

9 members who are elected by the Students from among the Students; and

75 members who are elected by the academic Staff from among the academic Staff in Schools.